Books · Jottings · Witterings

Six Books, Six Months – 2013 Version

Last year I started this little meme more on a whim than anything else, and thought why not give it another outing and so here it is for 2013.

Here are the 6 categories I chose originally. Feel free to use them;

  • Six new authors to me;
  • Six authors I have read before;
  • Six authors I am looking forward to reading more of;
  • Six books I have enjoyed the most;
  • Six books I was disappointed with;
  • Six series of books read or started

My new one for this year

  • Six authors I read last year – but not so far this year

Or perhaps chose some of these below, which many readers and bloggers used last year to join in with this meme.

  • Six Books that took me on extraordinary journeys
  • Six books that took me by the hand and led me into the past
  • Six books from the past that drew me back there
  • Six books from authors I know will never let me down
  • Six books I must mention that don’t fit nicely into any category
  • Six Books I started in the first six months of the year and was still caught up with in July
  • Six trips to Europe:
  • Six blogging events I enjoyed:
  • Six bookish things I’m looking forward to:
  • Six Espionage or Historical Novels I enjoyed
  • Six Cool Classics
  • Six Non-US/Non-British Authors
  • Six From the Non-Fiction Shelf
  • Six that didn’t live up to expectations
  • Six books that I had one or two problems with but am still glad I tried:

Join in and spread the word. It is always great to have new readers to my blog and to discover more blogs out there too!

And my 6 in 6 are as follows:

  • Six new authors to me

1. Jill Mansell

2. Lisa O’Donnell

3. Morgan McCarthy

4. Maggie Joel

5. Elizabeth Gill

6. Maeve Binchy

  • Six authors I have read before

1. Trisha Ashley

2. Niamh O’Connor

3. Katie Fforde

4. Judith Kinghorn

5. Philippa Gregory

6. Linda Gillard

  • Six books I have enjoyed the most

1. The White Queen – Philippa Gregory

2. Suzanne Collins – The Hunger Games

3. The Death of Bees – Lisa O’Donnell

4. Home Front Girls – Rosie Goodwin

5. Life after Life – Kate Atkinson

6. One Pair of Hands – Monica Dickens

  • Six books I was disappointed with

1. Sue Monk Kidd – The Secret Life of Bees

2. Adrienne McDonnell – The Doctor & the Diva

3. Alex Grecian – The Yard

4. Eleanor Prescott – Could It Be I’m Falling In Love

5. Brigid Keenan – Diplomatic Baggage

6. Paul O’Grady – Still Standing: The Savage Years

  • Six books from authors I know will never let me down

1. Good Husband Material – Trisha Ashley

2. A Sea Change – Veronica Henry

3. The Glass Guardian – Linda Gillard

4. Agatha Christie – A Caribbean Mystery

5. Katie Forde – Love Letters

6. Life after Life – Kate Atkinson

  • Six authors I read last year – but not so far this year

1. Emylia Hall

2. Simon Kernick

3. P.G. Wodehouse

4. Maria Cobbold

5. Nicky Pellegrino

6. Alexander McCall Smith

26 thoughts on “Six Books, Six Months – 2013 Version

  1. Interesting choices Jo. I love the addition of new categories that people could choose to have in their posts. I decided to stick with the original categories as they worked well for me last year. My post is scheduled for tomorrow!

  2. Good to see this meme back again! I’m still trying to decide on my categories and choices but my post should be ready by tomorrow.

I love hearing from you so please leave a reply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.