Books · Witterings

One Book, Two Book, Three Book, Four… and Five…

Joining in with the fun with Simon from Stuck In A Book  who tired wanted to still post with a quick sort of post mentioning a few books! I know how he feels, as the bank holidays are on hold until the end of the month I am slowly getting back into a routine at work, although it has been rather manic as I have been deputising for my boss whilst he was off for a couple of days – chuck in the arrival of 2 palette load of duvets, staff leaving, end of month reports and then staff falling ill, I was glad when he was back and I could get back to just doing my job!

Therefore reading has somewhat slowed, and I have not got into a routine of reading, sleeping was more beneficial for me! Simon’s post was just the tonic I needed. So let us get on with it….

1.) The book I’m currently reading: 

 Irish woman, Ellie goes to America to send money back to her husband who as lost use of his legs due to being involved in the Irish troubles.  The roaring twenties are in full swing when Ellis is over there and she experiences something different from home.

2.) The last book I finished: 

Review coming soon for this book – very good! Gripping.

3.) The next book I want to read: 

Oh gosh how can I chose when the pile is ever growing but I am going to go with The Crimson Petal and White which I have downloaded to my kindle and have started so perhaps it should feature in No 1. But I actually want to finish it I think!

4.) The last book I bought: 

Back a few weeks ago I bought more than one book!  Take your pick really.

5.) The last book I was given: 

From my mum – who read it a long time ago, wanted to read it again and then could not find it anywhere. Then ebay provided a cheap option and it was devoured in a day.

 The blurb says this:

The townspeople would have said Larking, with its stone rectory and thatched farmhouses, was typical of a thousand other English villages. As it happened, this was true. And everyone in Larking thought he or she knew everything about everyone else. In that they found they were mistaken – especially the morning the postman found Grace Jenkins murdered. She had lived quietly at Boundary Cottage for twenty-one years, but there was a great deal about Grace the townspeople did not know. And everyone’s favorite Detective Inspector C.D. Sloan soon discovered they knew even less about her daughter Henrietta…in fact, nobody could explain who Henrietta really was.

So there is my five. A good way of consolidating on books and what we are all reading or have been reading and what has been coming in and out of our bookish homes!

6 thoughts on “One Book, Two Book, Three Book, Four… and Five…

  1. I do like your new stash of purchased books.

    I have Bitter Chocolate to read by Lesley Lokko.

    I do love Maggie O’Farrell. I have yet to read this one.
    The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox was a favourite.

    carol

  2. An interesting assortment of books 🙂 Henrietta Who? sounds really interesting and not a title I’ve come across before.
    I hope you get a well deserved bookish break after your hectic time at work 🙂

  3. Thanks for joining in! I often find the quick little posts I do when I’m tired are the ones which get the most interesting responses – especially when they inspire other posts like this one! 🙂

  4. I have some interest in Esme Lennox myself… glad to see your selection. I love the story about your mother’s memory of that last book; and it sounds charming, too!

I love hearing from you so please leave a reply.

