Books

March Roundup

I know I am going to be repeating myself and if I went back and looked at previous March roundup posts, I bet I still say “we are a quarter of the way through the year already”. And so we are and it seems that my reading for this month has taken an all female turn looking back on who I have read. Familiar and new, reliable and breath taking probably sums up some if not all of the books I have read in March.

Familiar with M.C. Beaton – Agatha Raisin and the Case of the Curious Curate. When you need a bit of reading therapy these are the books for you. This is certainly one of the stronger Agatha Raisin stories and I can certainly see how they have grown since the early books.

Another one is Debbie Macomber – The Shop on Blossom Street* I am familiar with her Cedar Cove series and completed the final one of those last year. Debbie Macomber has written a lot so I wanted to read even more and I have read one of the Blossom Street series 4 years ago so I knew this was the place to go and visit. Even more so as the shop on Blossom Street is in fact a wool shop (yarn in American). What better for a knitting fan! Having read it, I really want to crack on with the others now and debating whether I will have to do a reread of the one from 4 years ago.

Back to a Catherine Cookson-esque author with Elizabeth Gill – Snow Angels. This is where I was affected by social media. I picked up the recommendation to read Elizabeth Gill’s new novel last year by another favourite of mine Trisha Ashley. When I asked what else I should read of hers she suggested this one.  And so whilst it was on offer on kindle I purchased it and now I have read it.

Finally for known authors was Natasha Solomons – The Novel in the Viola*. I had this on my shelf (3 years) for a while and picked it up following reading one of her other novels. It was a gentle book (as was Mr Rosenblum’s List) and won  which explored some interesting concepts and took me back to some history which I knew very little about. It is always a joy when reading something through Historical Fiction takes you on another journey of discovery.

Although I wallowed in some Agatha Raisin this month, I was introduced to Kate Shackleton in Frances Brody – Dying in the Wool. Another female private detective, this time after the First World War, widowed and living in Yorkshire, where her father is also in the police force. This is the first in the series and I am interested to see how it will develop. Similar  in time period but not in class I suppose to Daisy Dalrymple, but somehow tackling some much different people.

As part of my 2014 challenges to read books off my shelf I picked up Tasmina Perry – The Proposal. This was sent to me back last year from the publisher and I have a few other of her novels waiting to be read. I had an idea of what I was going to get from the book which is why I think I had not got round to reading them in any great rush. They say don’t judge a book by its cover – so that is a timely reminder as the book was great and I am looking forward to reading her other work.

Then there is the book club choice – Diane Chamberlain – The Midwife’s Confession*. Another new author and whilst I am not overly keen on American books as they can sometimes come across as too wishy washy and over the top. This was neither. It was a page turner – and I want to say more and I cannot because to do so would ruin it for everyone. I cannot wait to talk about the book.

And as the month closes, I am reading the second choice for book club which is Anne of Green Gables, one I have never read, which I am enjoying, which has surprised me. I do have another one on the go for when dear Anne gets a bit too talkative and that is Santa Montefiore and The Summer House. I am hoping that April will bring not just a few brighter days but also lots more reading.

*Book Review yet to appear on blog.

 

2 thoughts on “March Roundup

  1. I’m glad you’re enjoying Anne of Green Gables. I read it as a child and loved it – I must re-read it one day!

I love hearing from you so please leave a reply.

