Books

May Roundup

Yet again another month has passed and I am a bit adrift from my roundup post. I can only blame life – it has a tendency to get in the way of blogging. I can assure you books are being read, but they are just not being blogged about with much frequency.

May was in the main a month full of lovely heart warming reads. Those that were not were on a very different level.

Marita Conlon-Mckenna – Rebel Sisters was certainly different to the previous books by this author that I have read. It was historical fiction and in an area, the Easter Rising which I knew little about. Fascinating.

I have always enjoyed murder mysteries and have always known of Patricia Wentworth, but had yet to read any of her novels. With the reprint of some of her lesser known ones I picked up Fool Errant. It is not a book I have reviewed in full, mainly because the plot was very complicated and whilst I did enjoy reading it, the thought of actually reviewing it gave me palpitations. Apparently according to my mum who read it at the same time as me, this is nothing like her Miss Silver novels. Those I have yet to read.

Complicated but perfectly plausible with the added bonus of being set in the past Sara Sheridan – British Bulldog is the fourth in the Mirabelle Bevan mysteries, this time we learn a lot more about Mirabelle’s lost love and question whether perhaps Mirabelle knew him at all. I am really looking forward to reading the next one, conveniently already on my kindle thanks to netgalley.

Katherine Webb – The Unseen was one of my challenge books to read in 2016. But it had an added bonus, it was a dual narrative tale which I do enjoy and was set shortly before the First World War and the main focus was ordinary girls who supported suffragism. Some of the scenes were quite graphic and coupled with the innocence of something other worldly, this make for a very contrasting read.

I was more than thrilled to get hold of Alex Brown – The Secret of Orchard Cottage through netgalley and devoured it as soon as I could. Trouble is with doing that, I have to wait an absolute age for the next one! I will never learn.

It is the same when you start a new series of book as well, as was the case of Phillipa Ashley – Summer at the Cornish Cafe. This is the first in a trilogy which I picked simply because of the cover and the setting. I was not disappointed but again I will have to wait.

What I did not have to wait for much was Holly Hepburn – Summer at the Star and Sixpence. Again choosing this to read I did not realise it was part of a selection of other novellas, which I am sure will perhaps make up a whole novel at some point in the future. A nice read. A nicer one when I did not have to leave the characters for too long when I could then go and read Holly Hepburn – Snowdrops at the Star and Sixpence and Holly Hepburn – Valentine’s Day at the Star and Sixpence.

Keeping with the theme of May as it seemed for starting or immersing my self in a series of books was Tilly Tennant – The Little Village Bakery, the first book set in the village of Honeybourne. It has everything you could want in a book about a village, and I had to keep reading it. I wonder how long I will have to wait until the next one?

The last book for May was not part of a series, but was by an author I have read before. One Hot Summer – Kat French, again another book where we have a big house, a village, a few local eccentrics, plenty of gossip and even some fame thrown into the mix.

Plenty of nice Summer reads int here to choose from. I wonder where June will take me to make it six months of reading, in theory I should have read 50 books by then…….

Are any of you interested in doing the Six in Six this year?

4 thoughts on “May Roundup

  1. The Unseen sounds interesting. I have read one of Katherine Webb’s other books, The Misbegotten, and really enjoyed it so I would like to try another one. And I’ve been wondering whether you would be doing Six in Six again this year! I would definitely be interested in joining in again.

I love hearing from you so please leave a reply.

