Books

November Roundup

I think this must be the latest I have ever done a round-up post of the previous months reading. I really do not know where time has gone lately, but although I have been reading as a form of relaxation I have somewhat been distracted away from the blog and not had the desire to write reviews or much else. I have a current spurt of interest and therefore my one aim if nothing else is to write this post.

So without further ado…..

I finished May Smith – These Wonderful Rumours!: A Young School Teacher’s Wartime Diaries* which I had been reading over a couple of months, dipping in and out. It really gives you another insight into how war affects people. And that humour was still very much present.

Of course I had started my Christmas themed reading back in October but I did a little bit more in November with Scarlett Bailey – Secret Santa which I had downloaded from netgalley last year!

When the weather is bad you dream of sunny places and I did with the new novel from Vanessa Greene – The Beachside Guest House* when I was transported to  the Greek Isles and I could imagine the warmth of the sun on my face.

New novels featured with Dawn French – According to Yes*. This is the comedienne’s latest foray into literature and again is very much out of the genre pigeonhole some novels can be placed in. This book has already been devoured by one friend after me and has been passed on again.

New books lead me to an older book. The third Cormoran Strike novel was published in November and I hear J K Rowling talking exclusively to Simon Mayo on his Radio 2 Book Club feature and it reminded me that I very much enjoyed the first and I had the second waiting to be read. So I did read Robert Galbraith – The Silkworm* and of course now I really want to read the third, especially as I cannot wait to see what Galbraith tackles next, there is very much I am sure an undercurrent of the chance of getting back at publishers in the second novel.

When it all becomes too much but you need to read this is where some easy cosy reading comes in. I chose the M.C. Beaton – Agatha Raisin Love Lies and Liquor,  as I make my way through these novels. Stupidly I picked up the previous one thinking I had not read it – it was late at night – and wasted some good reading time thinking this is all a bit too familiar but I was not quite sure until the following morning when I checked Goodreads to find out I had read it.

Whilst reading another Agatha Raisin, helps me with my challenges this year, reading Adele Parks – The State We’re In* helped me as well. This is very different from some of the more earlier Parks novels I have read and recall, it was fascinating but I did struggle reading it on my kindle. It was one of those books that in the first few chapters you had to keep (well I did) flicking back to the beginning to get a sense of who everyone was.

So that was November, not bad considering I think the phrase should be. But actually many of these have yet to be reviewed and if you are waiting to hear what I think about some of them, then can I ask you wait a little bit longer.

*Book review yet to appear on my blog.

I love hearing from you so please leave a reply.

