Books

Book Club #18 – Barack Obama – Dreams From My Father

The book for this month (well actually November) was Barack Obama – Dreams From My Father. We thought we would go for something a bit more true life and real.

osborne house
We did not stay here! This is Osborne House, but we visited on the Sunday.

The plan was that we would discuss the book on our weekend away to the Isle of Wight. It is the first book that none of us have finished and even started to read. K and myself had started it, but we both found that it was rather scholarly and that it was a book that you had to take your time with to read. It felt like reading an essay. Certainly not a novel and not an autobiography as we know them from the ‘celeb’ variety.

So over a delicious Beef Curry (thanks to C) I sort of went over the book as to how far I had got – boy born in Hawaii, to a black father, white mother, father leaves him and goes back to Kenya, returns when he is about 11 years old and then the boy never sees him again. Boy moves around the world and then back to Hawaii and then onto New York where he coasts around trying to find some sort of purpose. The boy is really struggling to deal with the racism which is rife in America. Then he learns when he is 21 that his father has died.

That is as far as I have got with the book, I would like to finish it and I know K would as well. But whilst reading it I kept thinking about all of this that had happened to this man and that I was holding the book he had written and now he was the most powerful man in the world. That thought kept entering my mind and I thought what a journey he has had to where he is now, and I haven’t even finished the book.

A rather short entry into our Book Club archive but for fairness and posterity I thought it was still worth a mention. Let’s see how we fair with the next book.

One thought on “Book Club #18 – Barack Obama – Dreams From My Father

  1. I can appreciate why you described Obama as “the most powerful man in the world” but is that really the case? Leaving aside the thorny issue of whether it is actually corporations rather than governments that control our lives, the US constitution seems structured in such a way as to leave Presidents with very little power, especially in their second term of office.

    Whilst I have not read this book, I remember it being something of a publishing sensation when it was released. I wonder if you all struggled a bit because, whatever your individual views of his performance in the job, you are no longer being carried along by that initial wave of optimism that accompanied his rise to power?

I love hearing from you so please leave a reply.

