Cooking

Simply Cake

Lemon Curd Cake

I have had lately an urge to bake and of course eat cake. Not good for the weight loss but good for the soul. And I need that at the moment. So wanting to do exactly that and try out my new icing syringe and use up some Lemon Curd I thought I would have a go at a Lemon Curd Sponge Cake. The result is above.

Now the simple bit, when upon showing my friend who asked where I had the recipe from I said it was from my head and it was easy. 6 of everything, 3 eggs and bake it. Oh was the reply. It was not until later on that actually I began to think that maybe she did not really know what I was on about and why I was a bit blase about it.

Then it occurred to me – this recipe has been handed down from my mum who quite clearly got it from her mum and so on back through the generations. It is a simple sponge cake recipe and can be adapted to have jam and cream for a Victoria Sponge variety, or add coffee and walnut for a difference or cocoa and chocolate. Alternatively you can make the same mixture and put them into muffin or cupcake cases and tins for individual cakes. A simple recipe that can be adapted into many different things, hence I think why I was slightly vague about it all.

The other thing that occurred to me was this recipe is not written down. Not in my recipe book, nor my mums, not my nans which we found when clearing out her house after she passed away. The recipe just exists. I felt quite sad that it did but also how wonderful that something has carried on through the generations and still not been written down. We must all have picked it up from simply watching and helping to bake.

But in case anyone wants to know it is (sorry it is old measurements or old money as my mum says) :

6oz Butter

6oz Caster Sugar

6oz Self Raising Flour

3 Eggs

Cream the butter and the sugar together.

Mix in the eggs and the flour (sieved if you can be bothered) a bit at a time until all the ingredients are mixed together.

Divide between two lined and greased sandwich tins

Cook until springy to touch and a skewer comes out clean.

Decorate as you want

Now to the buttercream – different recipes are around but simply butter and icing sugar with a splash of milk to stop the icing sugar clouding up and going everywhere! I use the taste test as opposed to the measuring but a basis is double the amount of sugar to the butter.  I have a syringe cake decorator that you can fill with the buttercream and decorate to your heart’s content as you can see I did.

I did put a few sploges of cream between the two cakes, but that was mainly filled with lemon curd.

It was yummy even if I do say so myself. I will be making it again (actually I did for a girlie weekend away) and I must be brave and try a different decorator.  I am fancying the coffee and walnut variety next.

One thought on “Simply Cake

  1. When baking a cake, I love to cream together the butter and sugar. Makes a grainy sound.:) Never heard of Lemon Curd cake. It looks pretty. My mom use to bake a cake with jelly or jam between the layers like you mentioned. It was so delicious.

I love hearing from you so please leave a reply.

