Books

The Mystery of Mercy Close – Marian Keyes

It is always refreshing to find a Marian Keyes novel you have not read and even more so when it is a new one. I did wonder, as the author suffers from crippling depression whether we would get another novel for a very long time. But we have and I feel that Keyes has drawn on her experiences of her depression to give us this rather different story.

It is not a mystery in the sense of crime and murder. It is the mystery of a missing person – Wayne Diffney, a member of Irish boy band Laddz who disappears a few days before a comeback concert. Where has he gone? Why has he gone? And do the other band members know something? In steps Helen Walsh. The youngest of the Walsh Family girls which have featured in previous novels. This time it is her turn to take centre stage.

Helen is a private investigator and her life is missing – she has lost her flat, her friend and work. With no money, she moves back in with her parents. But Helen is missing something else, and she knows she needs quickly to find it before she slips into a downward spiral she recognises – depression. If she can keep busy by trying to find Wayne then she will be able to cope. But this case proves rather testing and she has to hunt high and low for Wayne , will she find him in time for the comeback concert?

Keyes writes a very brutally honest book about depression and although it has some humour in it, for me it was not as much as previous novels and this was a rather dark novel that felt to me it was teetering on the edge of developing into something that was very much not a Keyes novel. What did make me smile is how she took the demise and comeback of boy bands which is a rather common occurrence nowadays, and some of the characters I am sure where just reincarnations of some names of members of Westlife, Boyzone, Take That et al. I spent some time trying to match character’s to real life pop stars. Try it if you read this one.

If you are a fan of her novels then you will pick this one up and complete the set of stories of the Walsh girls. New to Keyes, perhaps try another before this one?

Thank you to Amazon Vine for allowing me the opportunity to read this.

It is a while since I have read any Marian Keyes, and I have read some previous ‘Walsh’ Family before. WatermelonRachel’s Holiday and Anybody Out There I have read. Angels is waiting on the shelf to be read. I found them much funnier, there was a bleakness to this book, and actually as I am going through a low time at the moment, it was perhaps not an ideal book to read to cheer the soul.

As I mention in the review, about the comparisons you could take with current reformed boy bands (or should that be man bands?) I am sure I recognised a Robbie Williams character, a Gary Barlow, a Bryan McFadden and the need for comeback being related to a need for money? But that is perhaps the Irish cynic in me? But then again it seems to be in Marian as well? 

I do hope that Marian is on the road to recovery and that she will produce some more novels in the future. 

I love hearing from you so please leave a reply.

