Books

August Roundup

Emperor Augustus

I feel like I should be an Emperor for the amount of reading I have done in August. But it was my main holiday time and I have had a tough few weeks from mid July and so there has been a lot of therapeutic reading. Oh what a joy reading can be.

Comfort reading comes in many forms – a familiar author, a family saga and a great author with a new book. All three of them were provided for me. The familiar author came in the shape of Trisha Ashley – Wedding Tiers* I do like her writing, it is like getting onto a comfy sofa, a blanket, hot chocolate and biscuits and losing yourself for a couple of hours or days!

The family saga, of which I am quite partial to came with a new author to me in the shape of Sherryl Woods – The Inn at Eagle Point. It was again great escapism but I really cannot involved with another family saga, I have too many series on the go which I have been neglecting of late. But at least I know there is another author to pick up soon and by the time I get there, there will be lots of books to catch up on!

A great author with a new book has to be Lucinda Riley – The Light Behind the Window. This is her third novel and is a cracking good read, it took me away in terms of historical fiction to something which I had not previously read anything about and that was the Special Operations Executive (S.O.E) during the Second World War. Fascinating stuff!

Historical fiction came in many guises in August. More Second World War related reading in the true life book from John E Forbat – Evacuee Boys: Letters of a Family Separated by War*. Then back to the so-called ‘Roaring’ Twenties with Cora Harrison – Debutantes*. The beginning of a new series books (aimed at older children) in which it is the mid twenties and being presented at court as a debutante was about as good as it was going to get. But for women times were changing and this book covers many of these aspects as well as having that favourite character of mine in a book – a big house!

Sticking with the Nineteen Twenties but travelling to the other side of the world was Suzanne Joinson – A Lady Cyclist’s Guide to Kashgar*. This book is a début novel and one which covered, religion and politics as well as a travel tale and life changing all between the covers and so you did not even know that you were reading about such subjects.

As for début novels, that continued with Emylia Hall – The Book of Summers. This was a book that surprised me, it took me to another place in the world I would never have considered to be one to visit within the pages of a novel – Hungary. The author has drawn on her own personal experiences of summers abroad to make a tale with a twist.

Now when you want twists in the tale who better to turn to than the best crime writers ever Agatha Christie and in this case the Three Act Tragedy*. Another Poirot novel, one where he is perhaps just an audience to the play which is being played out before him, but nonetheless his input is imperative and vital to the conclusion. Someone who is not always vital to the conclusion and sometimes gets in the way is Agatha Raisin and the Wellspring of Death by M.C. Beaton.* but you know Agatha, she manages to turn it all round and we are ready to see what she gets up to next!

It is all about the conclusion in crime novels and in Niamh O’Connor – Taken we also get something more, the hint that the series will be carried on and that perhaps are protagonist DI Jo Birmingham has unfinished business she needs to solve with someone close to her. The hint is take, as I have the next one waiting to be read! Thank you publishers.

And a thank you must also got to Authors. I was contacted recently by someone who has previously only written two novels before, both I have read and reviewed. She spotted this and offered to send me her latest novel, currently only available on kindle. Would I mind reading it and writing about it, no pressure. Well thank you very much Emma Burstall for The Darling Girls. It was a novel again, with a difference to the previous two, the only similarities being how a group of women cope with the circumstances and situations they find themselves and their emotions in.

Well you know what women can be like when they are together and especially in pursuit over men. It is not a new concept which is why I read Jane Austen and Northanger Abbey this stemmed from me reading a short story of There Must be Murder a couple of months ago, where the characters feature from the said Austen novel. Language and society may have changed over the last 200 years, but there is something very recognisable in the characters of Catherine and Isabella.

Over periods of time, it has often been said “hell hath no fury than a woman scorned”. That is certainly the case with Tamar Cohen and The Mistress’s Revenge*. Plenty of ideas if you were ever lacking in here!

And so there goes August, there goes my last holiday until Christmas, with only a few random days off in between. A substantial amount of books read which will tail off in September. But what will I be reading? Do please pop back when you can and find out.

* Book review yet to appear on this blog.

4 thoughts on “August Roundup

  1. It sounds like August was a great month for you! I’m looking forward to The Light Behind the Window – I got a copy through Amazon Vine but haven’t had a chance to read it yet.

  2. Goodness me you did get lots of reading done, you are right ti can be therapeutic.

I love hearing from you so please leave a reply.

