Books

Agatha Raisin and the Terrible Tourist – M.C. Beaton

Agatha Raisin has a determined personality and  cannot see when all around her is saying don’t do it, he does not love you she steam rollers ahead in the pursuit of what she wants, something that probably made her one of the best PR people around. But since her retirement it does not work anymore but that does not stop Agatha trying.

Following on from the last book (you do not need to read them in order as the book stands alone happily on its own and mentions everything you need to know) Agatha is still pursuing James who has taken himself off to Cyprus, where they would have been on honeymoon if it was not for the probable of Agatha’s husband turning up just as she was going to get married.

The snob in Agatha immediately comes out as soon as she lands at the airport, it is too hot, everyone is too laid back for Agatha’s liking and when she joins a tourist boat ride she is joined by some other English people – a rather eclectic mix of class and status, Olivia and George, Harry, Rose and Trevor and Angus. Agatha’s interest is piqued and what brings these people together, then one of them ends up dead.

With the help of James, who seems somewhat annoyed that Agatha has found him, they start to get involved in an investigation which the Cypriot police are not too keen on and neither are the others. Agatha wants to know what they have to hide, but when her own life is in danger she wishes she was back in the sleepy village of Carsley.

Presumably to give Carsley a rest from Agatha, M.C. Beaton transports her to Cyprus and also turns this book into a tourist guide to the island. In some ways for me this made the book not as good as previous ones in the series. Nonetheless it would not stop me reading more. Great bit if escapism and a good one if you want to take a book away on holiday.

These are nice short books around 250-275 pages and I am enjoying them as I read on in the series. It also amazes me that I can dislike a character so much as James Lacey. I know that it could seem like Agatha is the one to dislike and there are times when I do, but there is something about James’ aloofness, arrogance, obnoxiousness (not a real word I know) and the fact that he seems to be getting nowhere with his supposed history book he is writing that makes me want to scream. I really hope he gets his comeuppance and the beauty is I have lots more books to find out whether he does or not! 

2 thoughts on “Agatha Raisin and the Terrible Tourist – M.C. Beaton

  1. You always seem to be one book ahead of me!

    I’ve just finished reading Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage, and eageraly await moving on to this one. My review will be up on Friday. I’m actually glad that Agatha and James weren’t able to marry because I don’t really like him either hehe! But it is a bit of a love to dislike him relationship.

I love hearing from you so please leave a reply.

