Books · Witterings

December Roundup

I know I have done a books of 2011 post already and you can find that here. However, it would seem silly not to have rounded up December reading just because it is the end of year. So to steal a theme from previous months and my end of year post I am going to have to start with crime!

It has come in many guises in December, from the short with Stuart MacBride and the Twelve Days of Winter where I fell for a marketing ploy. To continuing the series with M.C. Beaton and dear old Agatha Raisin, oh but I have so many more to enjoy. I carried on with James Anderson and The Affair of the Mutilated Mink, sadly there is only one more of this trilogy to read and I will be disappointed when I have read it, knowing there is no more. However thanks to other blogs I have now discovered L.C.Tyler – The Herring Seller’s Apprentice and found this book such a delight I forgot that it was a crime novel. More up to date and rather graphic crime came this month with Belinda Bauer and her new novel Finders Keepers out in January 2012, not perhaps as strong as her debut novel but she is certainly making her name and a good name for herself.

Series of books were revisited again this December with Jack Sheffield and Please Sir! I had purposely avoided this book but when I saw I may have the opportunity to read the latest one, I thought remiss of me to not read this one and I was glad I did. I was also back with M.C. Beaton as well in her Travelling Matchmaker Series, this time with Beatrice in Brighton, the fourth novel in the set of six. This was a pleasant day’s reading as these are rather short stories. (Review coming soon).

Debbie Macomber is an author who I return to time and time again. Plenty yet for me to read of her works, but this time of year there is always a Christmas related book out and so that was where I went with Angels at Christmas. Which after having read the two short stories within I discover that it is in fact part of a series of ‘Angels’ stories. Hey Ho, just more to read but probably now not until next Christmas.

With December being the month of Christmas (if you had not noticed) I wanted to fit in some Christmas themed reading. I first came across Melody Carson last year when I had a sample of one of her books on my kindle. Then seeing one of her others, a rather shorter story out on Amazon I thought I would give it a go and so I got on The Christmas Bus.

Even more Christmas was found in Miracle at Regent Street by Ali Harris (review coming soon), an excellent book and although late in the year (or early in 2012 depending on when you are reading this) one of my favourites and certainly one of the best Christmas books I have read.

For something completely different I devoured plenty of easy going reading this month looking back, but I also treated myself to a couple of books on the two for £7 in Tesco (other supermarkets are available as well as bookshops – note to self!) one was the Debbie Macomber book the other, so I fell for the marketing ploy (I do partake although with cynicism) , was The Fat Chance Guide to Dieting by Claudia Pattison. I attend a slimming group, though thank goodness nothing like the one in the book as I think I would have run out crying. As all the nice and naughty christmas goodies are slowly being eaten (only if I am round my mums I may add – or is that add to the waistline?) it is time to refocus for 2012.

Where to put the last book to mention for December Michelle Magorian and Just Henry. A children’s book (yes that is what it is) , an author I have read before (Back Home and then Goodnight Mister Tom), a historical book (set after the Second World War), a chunky book (700 pages) or just to put plainly and simply a fantastic must read and to quote them pesky meerkats – Simples!

So there you have 12 books for December the twelfth month as we go into 2012 and all that it may bring book wise at least. Happy New Year to all.

3 thoughts on “December Roundup

  1. You know, I didn’t read any Christmas books this year, which is a shame. I had planned to reread A Christmas Carol but just didn’t get round to it. It sounds like you read some wonderful books this December though.

    Hope 2012 is a great year for you and your family 🙂

  2. I usually re-read Christmas Carol to get me into the Christmas mood too, but didn’t manage it this year. There are lots of authors in your list that I’m really looking forward to reading for the first time in 2012. Thanks again and have a great 2012!

I love hearing from you so please leave a reply.

