Books

How to be a Woman – Caitlin Moran

This book is very the ‘in’ book to be reading in 2011. Caitlin Moran’s How to be a Woman is part autobiographical and part a license to rant about all female issues. I am not normally a fan of these books, but a free copy available to me meant I thought I would give it a try. It starts off quite well, and in parts is quite funny and with pathos as we learn about Caitlin’s childhood when she starts to wonder what it will be like to be a woman, but not necessarily the rules on how to be one. But then it somehow changes.

We go through chapters about being fat, being in love, getting married and having children and we see glimpses of Moran’s life and opinions of how woman relate themselves in the world. The way the book is structured is very journalistic and you can actually dip into each chapter and read that as essentially the only common thread through the story is that of Caitlin. I do not deny that perhaps some of what she says is quite true but the rather wild and raving way it comes across the page made me want to go I agree but please do not go on about it so. I had no knowledge of this journalist and never read any of her columns and I think I will probably pass over them now as I did quite a bit of this book.

It has taken me ages or it seems to have taken ages to finish this book. I started it with good faith and a had a chuckle then got annoyed with it, put it down and picked up more interesting reads. However, as I was on a roll to finish and tidy up a few things all of a sudden I finished the book. A lot of it was skim read though. A habit I hate, but I know when I am doing it, I am telling myself something. Not a book I will remember for 2011. 

3 thoughts on “How to be a Woman – Caitlin Moran

  1. My response was pretty much the same as yours – and I threw in the towel and took the book back to the library after three chapters.

  2. I’m really wary of this book, it was given to me recently as a gift otherwise like you I would never have bothered picking it up. I must get round to reading it! Although like you say it’s the in book I’ve only actually met one person who loved it!

I love hearing from you so please leave a reply.

